Hide and seek

“Hide and seek, hide and seek”
you said it, lying there on bed.
It was our thing, you know
it made me happy.
I looked upto you and you were smiling weakly at me.
I went to other room and counted.
Little did I knew, you would hide forever.
I came searching for you to see there
but it felt empty, I could see your face
but it was still as if time stopped breathing
in that moment.
I couldn’t find the traces of YOU in your
eyes blankly staring at space.
I didn’t know what to do then the doctor came
They took me away from you while
I kept seeking for you to be awake dad.
“Hide and seek, hide and seek”
I heard it again, “Mama, lets play”
How could I not when all I could
see was happiness glittering in her eyes.
In that moment, I realised why
you insisted on playing.
I nodded and started counting.
Guess, thats how it is, a single
word could define different
meanings in life.

Leave a comment